I don't know…or do i??

June 12, 2010

1 Litre of Tears

Filed under: Movies — Tags: , , , , , , , , , — plaineccentric @ 6:38 am

 Warning : Spoilers up ahead!

Taken from http://www.1litreoftears.com/

Based on a true story. This story is about a girl named Aya who suffered from an incurable disease, but lived life to the fullest until her death at 25.

The original story is based on the diary Aya kept writing until she could no longer hold a pen. The book that later followed entitled “One Liter of Tears” has sold over 1.1 million copies.

Aya’s only wish was “to live.” By carefully depicting Aya’s earnest desire to live, and the love of her family, friends, and lover, the drama, “One Liter of Tears” wishes to deliver her simple but strong message: “Just being alive is such a lovely and wonderful thing.”

11 episodes..and so i cried 11 litres of tears. Though not intended, the sadness from this drama stuck with me for the next few dys. It was definitely not pleasant waking up and feeling so gloomy..

How people like Aya have the strength to go thru what we do not have to..the obstacles, not just from her limiting physical condition but also from the people around her.  Bless all your brave little hearts!

Anywez, here is a good video summary of the show :

Excerpts from the drama, or her book (i’m not sure) :

Not something special,
Just a memory of a girl who was chosen by a special illnes

1st Litre…

If I were a flower, then now I’d be a bud
I shall treasure the beginning of my youth without any regrets.

2nd Litre…

Mother, deep inside my heart, I have a mother who always believes in me.
From now onwards as well, please continue to look after me.
I’m sorry to have troubled you so much.

3rd Litre…

Why did this disease choose me?
I cannot carry it, if it’s just for the word “fate”.

4th Litre…

I want to build a time machine and re-visit the past.
If it weren’t for this disease, I might even be in love.
I want to cling to someone’s arm so badly.

5th Litre…

I really don’t want to say things such as “I want to go back to how things were before”.
I recognize how I am right now, and I will continue to live on.

6th Litre…

Eventhough I’ve been hurt by those heartless glances…
This also helped me to understand that around me, there still exist some gentle glances.
Therefore I definitely won’t run away.
That’s what I’ll do. Definitely, always.

7th Litre…

I like the sound of the bell, echoing in the gym.
The quiet classroom after class.  The view outside the window.
The wooden floors of the corridors. Talking in homeroom.
I like all of these.
I’m only likely to cause trouble for people. And it might not really do me any good to stay here.
Even if it’s like that, I still want to stay here. Becasue this is the place where I am.

8th Litre…

What’s wrong with falling down?
You can always stand up again.
If you look up at the sky after falling down, the blue sky is still today stretching limitlessly and smiles at me…I’m alive.
I’m alive.

9th Litre…

The morning light.
In front of the school gate, there is a wall.
The morning light dawns upon the wall.
One day, when I look up, the wall will quietly sigh.
This wall represents my disability.
Even if I scream aloud, or cry out, it won’t disappear.
But, when the sun is shining, doesn’t it also shine on this wall?
So, even if it’s me…
To stop my pace, and live in the present.
Eventhough there will be a day, that I will lose it, isn’t it great that I could pass on a dream that I had to give up?
People shouldn’t dwell in the past. It’s enough to try your best in all that you’re doing now.

10th Litre…

As I think about the past, the tears will come out.
Reality is too cruel, too brutal.
I don’t even have the right to dream.
As I think about the future, the tears will come out again.

11th Litre…

Because of Aya’s words, alot of people have started thinking about their purpose of being alive.
Thinking that to be able to spend everyday normally, gives me a really happy and warm feeling.
And to feel the warmth of those around them, to those who have the same disease as you and are in pain, they realise that they are not alone.
Eventhough you cried so many tears, because of this you produced your many phrases, and have touched many people’s hearts.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

